In 1880, George Starrh, a Snake River
Placer Miner, started a ferry across
Snake River one mile north of here.
From 1880-2, freighters hauling supplies for
a mining rush to Wood River used Starrh's ferry
(powered by river current when stiff winds were
not blowing too hard), and local traffic lasted
until Milner reservoir flooded out summer
operations after 1904. But a small town with a
post office (1909-12) remained there for more
than a decade. During that time, nearby
bridges replaced Starrh's ferry.