In April 1879 members of the Church of Jesus
Christ of Latter-day Saints from Tooele, Utah,
under the direction of Wm. E. Martindale arrived
in Oakley where James Dayley and his two sons
had staked claims and built cabins. On Sept. 24,
1882, the saints were organized into a ward with
Horton D Haight, Bishop. In 1902 the Cassia
Stake Tabernacle was built of native stone.
With a seating capacity of 700, it was
completed at a cost of $12,000. Destroyed
by fire in 1965.