See the context of this sign.

Big Springs

Johnny Sack Cabin

Built by Johnny Sack int he early 1930's, the 4.11" German
immigrant bult the entire cabin and furnishings by hand.

The small water wheel built by Johnny was to provide electricity
and water to the cabin. The water was pumped up hill to a cistern
and rain by gravity flow through pipes to the cabin.

After Johnny Sack's death in 1956, the estate was sold to Rudy
Kipp, in 1981, the cabin was listed on the National Register of
historical places.

The Johnny Sack Cabin is open to the public July 4 through
Labor Day.

Administered by Island Park Interpretive Association.

No admission charge, donations accepted.

Distance to the cabin, approximately 1/3 mile.

Don't miss the rest of our virtual tour of Big Springs in 75 images.